Maharashtra Board

Maharashtra Board of Secondary Education

The Maharashtra Board is a state board. The Maharashtra State Board of Secondary & Higher Secondary Education conducts the HSC and SSC Examinations in the state of Maharashtra.

The Board came into existence on 1 January 1966. the main objective is to regulate certain matters pertaining to secondary education in the state of Maharashtra. The board is responsible for the formation, and implementation of the rules and regulations in accordance with the guidelines set by the state as well as central boards. It is also in charge, autonomously, of, and implementation of the syllabus/curriculum of all the grades, textbooks, exam schedule, and type. The board is also responsible for the creation of textbooks, scoring of the centralised tests, and conducting examinations fairly and providing unbiased justice in the event of a dispute.

Board has nine Divisional Boards located in

  1. Pune
  2. Mumbai
  3. Aurangabad
  4. Nasik
  5. Kolhapur
  6. Amravati
  7. Latur
  8. Nagpur
  9. Ratnagiri

The Board conducts examination twice a year

  • Annual Board Exam
  • Supplementary Exam

There are about 21000 schools (SSC) and 7000 (HSC) Higher Sec. Schools / Jr. colleges in the entire state. The number of students appearing for the main examination is around 14 Lacs for HSC and 17 Lacs for SSC. For the supplementary examination around 6 Lacs students are expected for HSC and SSC together.

Maharashtra Board

Maharashtra Board
Board NameMaharashtra Board of Secondary Education
TypeState Board
Establishment1 January 1966
Official LanguageMarathi & English
Result Website

Latest Update

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.