Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya

Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya


Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya (informally abbreviated DAVV), is a State University whose jurisdiction was initially restricted to Indore city. Later on, its jurisdiction was extended to seven tribal-dominated districts of Indore division namely, Jhabua, Alirajpur, Dhar, Khargone, Khandwa, Burhanpur and Barwani. It is thus catering to the educational needs of the most industrially developed district of Madhya Pradesh, Indore on one hand and to the seven tribal and rural backward districts of the State on the other. DAVV is accredited A+ Grade by NAAC which is only University in Madhya Pradesh.

Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya

DAVV formerly the University of Indore was established in 1964 by an Act of Legislature of Madhya Pradesh. His Excellency Dr Zakir Hussain, then Vice President of India, inaugurated the university in 1964. The jurisdiction of the university was limited to Indore district.

In 1988, the university was renamed after the Holkar Maharani ‘Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar’ of the Maratha Empire as ‘Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya’. The word vishwavidyalaya is Hindi for university, thus, the university is called Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya.

During reorganization of the universities, its jurisdiction was expanded over to Indore division, which spans over seven districts.

UniversityDevi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya
Mottodhiyo yo naḥ prachodayāt(Sanskrit)
Motto in EnglishGod help us to improve our intellect, and guide it towards what is right
ChancellorGovernor of Madhya Pradesh
LocationIndore, Madhya Pradesh, India
CampusUrban, 22 Acres in area
AffiliationsUGC, AICTE

Latest Update

  1. DAVV Admission,
  2. DAVV Syllabus,
  3. DAVV Exam Scheme,
  4. DAVV Result,
  5. DAVV Back Paper,
  6. DAVV College,
  7. DAVV Back Paper,
  8. DAVV Result

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.